April 19, 2024

The Honorable Hal Rogers	The Honorable Matt Cartwright
Chairman, Subcommittee on Commerce, Justice,	Ranking Member, Subcommittee on Commerce,
and Science	Justice, and Science
House Committee on Appropriations	House Committee on Appropriations
2406 Rayburn House Building	2102 Rayburn House Building
Washington, DC 20515	Washington, DC 20515

Dear Chairman Rogers and Ranking Member Cartwright:

We write to respectfully request that you support robust funding of \$10.18 billion, matching the President's budget request, for the National Science Foundation (NSF) in the Fiscal Year (FY) 2025 Commerce, Justice, Science, and Related Agencies Appropriations bill.

The nation faces urgent competitiveness challenges, and NSF funding is critical to ensuring our innovation ecosystem is prepared to lead the world in the emerging technologies that are key to economic security and our national defense. For nearly 75 years, NSF has advanced the frontiers of the full spectrum of science and engineering research and innovation.

The CHIPS and Science Act directed NSF to expand its mission towards transforming innovation ecosystems with the new Technology, Innovation, and Partnerships (TIP) Directorate; address growing workforce gaps in emerging technology areas by expanding its efforts in STEM education and broadening participation programs; expand regional innovation; and address the need for basic science and engineering research that lays the foundation for the future. NSF cannot realize this Congressional vision without adequate funding.

Despite strong bipartisan support for NSF, the agency suffered cuts in the difficult FY24 funding environment. Many programs authorized in 2022 will be stalled or suspended, including the advancement of important regional innovation efforts.

For these reasons, we encourage you to robustly fund the National Science Foundation, in line with the President's budget request, in FY2025. We must ensure our nation remains at the forefront of scientific and technological innovation across all fields of research.

Sincerely,

foe Neguse Member of Congress

medenal

Eric Swalwell Member of Congress

Lucy MCBath

Lucy McBath Member of Congress

ah Km

Deborah K. Ross Member of Congress

Gregorio Kilili Camacho Sablan Member of Congress

the patrick

Brian Fitzpatrick Member of Congress

Parmy d. Paris

Danny K. Davis Member of Congress

R. Meclice

Jennifer L. McClellan Member of Congress

Lisa Blunt Rochester Member of Congress

Mi Sewell

Terri A. Sewell Member of Congress

Stephen F. Lynch Member of Congress

an Motave Fustor

Ann McLane Kuster Member of Congress

hell lalot

Nick LaLota Member of Congress

Raul Ruiz, M.D. Member of Congress

Chris Pappas Member of Congress

Summer L. Lee

Summer Lee Member of Congress

leiner

Josh Gottheimer Member of Congress

Glenn "GT" Thompson Member of Congress

Pauls.tonlo

Paul D. Tonko Member of Congress

Donald G. Davis Member of Congress

Gwen S. Moore Member of Congress

Robert Garcia Member of Congress

Paus Dellate

Diana DeGette Member of Congress

Jim Costa Member of Congress

Ason Crow Member of Congress

Arihan Eli

Richard E. Neal Member of Congress

June

Julia Brownley Member of Congress

Vicente Gonzalez Member of Congress

liai

Angie Craig Member of Congress

byle

Val Hoyle Member of Congress

Jed W. Lien

Ted W. Lieu Member of Congress

Magazine Se

Member of Congress

I Hadlen

Ferrold Nadler Member of Congress

Haley M. Stevens Member of Congress

Nikki Budzinski Member of Congress

a Janannenti

John Garamendi Member of Congress

Sydney Kamlager Dove Member of Congress

Marie Gluesenkapp Perez Member of Congress

Andy Kim Member of Congress

10.CLK

Salud Carbajal Member of Congress

alast Jan Schakowsky

Member of Congress

nettony,

Brittany Pettersen Member of Congress

Tinde J. Sai

Linda T. Sánchez Member of Congress

Donald S. Beyer Jr. Member of Congress

Rasheda Glaik

Rashida Tlaib Member of Congress

K. Ilizo

Chris Deluzio Member of Congress

Kelli

Robin L. Kelly Member of Congress

mv Gomez

Member of Congress

evin Mullin

Kevin Mullin Member of Congress

Mussy Hackhan

Chrissy Houlahan Member of Congress

Raúl M. Grijalva Member of Congress

Mall

Mark DeSaulnier Member of Congress

Clarke

Wette D. Clarke Member of Congress

Seth Moulton Member of Congress

Nikema Williams Member of Congress

J. Luis Correa Member of Congress

Nydia M. Velázquez Member of Congress

~ S. THERE

Ayanna Pressley Member of Congress

Raja Krishnamoorthi Member of Congress

Chell R

Chellie Pingree Member of Congress

Pori Irala

Lori Trahan Member of Congress

James P. Me

James P. McGovern Member of Congress

Im Himes Member of Congress

Anna G. Eshoo Member of Congress

Dan Goldman Member of Congress

Nanette Diaz Barragan

Nanette Diaz Barragán Member of Congress

John

Jeff Jackson Member of Congress

V. Kieda

Daniel T. Kildee Member of Congress

Jonathan L. Jackson Member of Congress

Gabe Amo Member of Congress

Mille Len

Mike Levin Member of Congress

Poren Bis

Becca Balint Member of Congress

Snowles 1,50

Brendan F. Boyle Member of Congress

May La Scan

Mary Gay Scanlon Member of Congress

Frank Pallon. p.

Frank Pallone, Jr. Member of Congress

Ilhan Omar Member of Congress

Adam B. Schiff Member of Congress

Cori Bush Member of Congress

cd

David Scott Member of Congress

8 AM

Alma S. Adams, Ph.D. Member of Congress

Eleano H. Noton

Eleanor Holmes Norton Member of Congress

Donald Norcross Member of Congress

Marilyn Strickland Member of Congress

· Cohen

Steve Cohen Member of Congress

phana Hayes

Jahana Hayes Member of Congress

anual +

Maxwell Alejardro Frost Member of Congress

Jong

Juan Vargas Member of Congress

Katie Porter Member of Congress

Sean Casten Member of Congress

Suzan K. DelBene Member of Congress

7/illin R. Kenting

William R. Keating Member of Congress

Juliet Menuly

Robert J. Menendez Member of Congress

Susan Wild Member of Congress

Jimmy Panetta Member of Congress

Suzanne Bonamici Member of Congress

Jared Huffman Member of Congress

he Count

Joe Courtney Member of Congress

Ro Khanna Member of Congress

3 gaster RI

Bill Foster Member of Congress

Earl Blumenauer Member of Congress

Rick Zanen

Rick Larsen Member of Congress

Vienic Fletoher

Lizzie Fletcher Member of Congress

arine Rousher

Valerie P. Foushee Member of Congress

John B. Larson Member of Congress

Whn P. Sarbanes Member of Congress

Mark Jaban

Mark Takano Member of Congress

110

Eric Sorensen Member of Congress

Jared Moskowitz Momber of Congress

Colin Z. Allred Member of Congress

a delune

Madeleine Dean Member of Congress

dsman

Member of Congress

Adam Smith Member of Congress

Marca

Kim Schrier, M.D. Member of Congress

Andrea Selines

Andrea Salinas Member of Congress

Kathy E. Manning Member of Congress

Mikie Sherrill Member of Congress

Jesús G. "Chuy" García Member of Congress

I Sherm

Brad Sherman Member of Congress

udy Chu

Judy Chu () Member of Congress

Miran

Frank J. Mrvan Member of Congress

hartell m

Shontel M. Brown Member of Congress

Earl I Bully Carter

Earl L. "Buddy" Carter Member of Congress

Robert C. "Bobby" Scott Member of Congress

Darin LaHood Member of Congress

Elissa Slotkin Member of Congress